Winzavod CCA
Moscow, 4th Syromyatnichesky lane 1/8 105120 Kurskaya/Chkalovskaya metro station

How to find us
Administrator: +7 (495) 917 46 46, + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Lease: +7 (495) 803 33 33
Cash: + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Email: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru
Exhibitions

Alexander Sigutin
‘Stumbling blocks’

24 April — 27 May 2018
23 pop/off/art gallery
24 April —
27 May 2018
23 pop/off/art gallery
Work hours:

12:00 — 20:00

Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun

Free

Alexander Sigutin
‘Stumbling blocks’

The pop / off / art gallery presents a new project by Alexander Sigutin, based on many years of research of the traditions of pan-European culture, which the artist deals with. Member of the association of artists of the legendary gallery in Trekhprudny lane, Sigutin perfectly orientates in once chosen medium - painting; he interweaves in his works the discourses of the most diverse trends in art.

Minimalistic in their plastic and coloristic decision, paintings from the project "Stumbling stones" continue to study iconographic schemes of medieval painting, its links with religious and literary sources. Alexander Sigutin works with symbolism, allegories and attributes of traditional culture, but every time the artist poses new questions to the viewer.

The stumbling block (Latin "petra scandali") - a winged expression, a quote from the Old and New Testament. In fact, all the unbelievers and doubters in their faith "stumbled" about this stone, placed by the higher forces in Zion, as a metaphorical "stone of sin and temptation." Multiplying this value in the name of the exhibition, Alexander Sigutin proclaims art as such a stone, which causes doubts or difficulties not in everyday life, but in spiritual life.

The exhibition will feature the artist's recent paintings on the themes from the New Testament, the exposition solution is intended to remind the viewer of the true meanings and difficulties of artistic ministry. The exhibition continues the project begun by Sigutin in 2009 and shown in the framework of the 3rd Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art.

Alexander Sigutin was born in 1959 in Rostov-on-Don, since 1991 he lives and works in Moscow. Participant in numerous group and solo exhibitions, including "More light" (the main project of the 5th Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, 2013), "ICONS" (Museum of Modern Art PERMM, 2012), "Not Toys !?" (State The Tretyakov Gallery, 2009) and many others. Alexander Sigutin's works are in the collections of the State Russian Museum, the State Tretyakov Gallery, the collection of Norton Dodge, the Zimmerli Art Museum, Rutgers University, New Jersey, the USA, as well as many private collections in Russia and abroad.

Центр современного
искусства Винзавод
Москва, 4-й Сыромятнический переулок, 1/8 стр. 6 Станции метро Курская, Чкаловская

Схема проезда
Администрация: +7 (495) 917 46 46, + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Аренда: +7 (495) 803 33 33
Кассы: + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Почта: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru
Выставка

Александр Сигутин
«Камни преткновения»

24 Апреля — 27 Мая 2018
23 Галерея pop/off/art

Александр Сигутин
«Камни преткновения»

Галерея pop/off/art представляет новый проект Александра Сигутина, основанный на многолетних исследованиях традиций общеевропейской культуры, которыми занимается художник. Участник товарищества художников легендарной галереи в Трехпрудном переулке, Сигутин прекрасно ориентируется в однажды выбранном медиуме – живописи; он вплетает в свои произведения дискурсы самых разных течений в искусстве. 

Минималистичные по своему пластическому и колористическому решению, полотна из проекта «Камни преткновения» продолжают исследование иконографических схем средневековой живописи, её связей с религиозными и литературными источниками. Александр Сигутин работает с символикой, аллегориями и атрибутами традиционной культуры, однако каждый раз художник ставит перед зрителем новые актуальные вопросы. 

Камень преткновения (лат. “petra scandali”) – крылатое выражение, цитата из Ветхого и Нового Завета. Фактически об этот камень, положенный высшими силами в Сионе, «спотыкались» все неверующие и сомневающиеся в своей вере, как о метафорический «камень греха и соблазна». Умножая это значение в названии выставки, Александр Сигутин провозглашает искусство таким камнем, вызывающим сомнения или затруднения не в повседневной жизни, но в жизни духовной. 

На выставке будут представлены последние живописные работы автора на сюжеты из Нового Завета, экспозиционное решение призвано напомнить зрителю об истинных смыслах и трудностях художественного служения. Выставка продолжает проект, начатый Сигутиным в 2009 году и показанный в рамках 3-й Московской биеннале современного искусства.

Александр Сигутин родился в 1959 году в Ростове-на-Дону, с 1991 года живет и работает в Москве. Участник множества групповых и персональных выставок, среди которых «Больше света/More light» (Основной проект 5-й Московсковской биеннале современного искусства, 2013), «ICONS» (Музей современного искусства PERMM, 2012), «Не игрушки!?» (Государственная Третьяковская галерея, 2009) и многие другие. Работы Александра Сигутина находятся в коллекциях Государственного Русского музея, Государственной Третьяковской галереи, коллекции Нортона Доджа, Zimmerli Art Museum, Rutgers University, Нью-Джерси, США, а также множестве частных собраний в России и за рубежом.