Winzavod CCA
Moscow, 4th Syromyatnichesky lane 1/8 105120 Kurskaya/Chkalovskaya metro station

How to find us
Administration: +7 (495) 917 46 46
Lease: +7 (905) 519 99 50
Ticket Office: +7 (495) 917 17 99
Email: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru, arenda@winzavod.ru
Installation

Anatoly Osmolovsky
The mosquito anthem

26 January — 24 February 2021
5 XL Gallery

Anatoly Osmolovsky
The mosquito anthem

16+

On January 26, the XL Gallery hosted the opening of the Moscovite Anthem exhibition by Moscow-based artist, curator, and art theorist Anatoly Osmolovsky.

One of the high-profile events of last year was the introduction of a number of amendments to the Constitution of the Russian Federation. The key object of the exhibition - the text of the Constitution of the Russian Federation with amendments in Buryat language - was inspired by this event. A Russian-speaking reader may understand some words from the text of the amendments made to the legal act, but in general these inserts will seem to be a kind of "nonsense". The exhibition also includes a sculpture by Osmolovsky and a sound installation made up of 18 loudspeakers of different types: from the horns comes the repeatedly amplified, deafening squeak of mosquitoes.

"The mosquito hymn can be seen as a kind of reference to the "Fragment of zoomorphic discourse" series by Andrei Monastyrsky, one of the founders of Moscow conceptualism. Works from this series were presented at the exhibition "Carriers," held at the XL Gallery in 2013: they were entomological illustrations depicting the genitals of mosquitoes and tinted with gold paint. Gold because this is the color traditionally used to paint details, such as the halos of angels, on icons. But it is impossible to see with the naked eye neither angels nor the genitals of mosquitoes. According to Monastyrsky's idea, this conditional invisibility places such different entities in the same contextual field, endows them with the same property: they can exist only in the imagination of the one who thinks about them. And in this respect, something completely insignificant becomes equal to the sacred.

Osmolovsky's exhibition is a poignant social project in which unanswered questions and the heat of public sentiment are transformed into a chaotic and uncomfortable space, while retaining visual rigor. The situation with which Osmolovsky works is brought to the point of absurdity: the "sacred" law of the country is unreadable, while the annoying sound of the "mosquito anthem" pours on and on from loudspeakers, meaningless and endless.

Anatoly Osmolovsky was born in 1969 in Moscow. Founder and leader of the E.T.I. (Expropriation of Art Territory) movement in the late 80's and early 90's. Winner of the Kandinsky Prize in the category "Artist of the Year". (2007). In 2011 together with Svetlana Baskova he established the BAZA Institute of Contemporary Art. Participant in the 55th Biennial of Contemporary Art (Casa dei Tre Ochi, Venice). Solo exhibitions of the artist took place in the gallery XL ("Gum with hair", 1994; "Something from time to time falling out of the trash can", 1996; "Order of the army of art", 1997; "Sheets", 1999; "Seven deaths in Moscow", 2003), the gallery "Triumph", the gallery pop/off/art and others.

Центр современного
искусства Винзавод
Москва, 4-й Сыромятнический переулок, 1/8 стр. 6 Станции метро Курская, Чкаловская

Схема проезда
Администрация: +7 (495) 917 46 46
Аренда: +7 (905) 519 99 50
Кассы: +7 (495) 917 17 99
Почта: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru, arenda@winzavod.ru
Инсталляция

Анатолий Осмоловский
Комариный гимн

26 Января — 24 Февраля 2021
5 Галерея XL

Анатолий Осмоловский
Комариный гимн

16+

26 января в галерее XL состоялось открытие выставки московского художника, куратора и теоретика искусства Анатолия Осмоловского «Комариный гимн».

Одним из резонансных событий прошлого года стало внесение ряда изменений в Конституцию Российской Федерации. Ключевой объект выставки — текст Конституции РФ с поправками на бурятском языке — был вдохновлен этим событием. Русскоговорящий читатель может понять отдельные слова из текста поправок, внесенных в правовой акт, однако в общем эти вставки покажутся ему своего рода «заумью». В экспозиции также представлена авторская скульптура Осмоловского и звуковая инсталляция, составленная из 18 разномастных громкоговорителей: из рупоров доносится многократно усиленный, оглушающий комариный писк.

«Комариный гимн» можно считать своеобразной отсылкой к серии «Фрагмент зооморфного дискурса» одного из основоположников московского концептуализма Андрея Монастырского. Работы из этой серии были представлены на выставке «Носители», проходившей в галерее XL в 2013 году: они представляли собой энтомологические иллюстрации, изображающие гениталии комаров и подкрашенные золотой краской. Золотой потому, что таким же цветом традиционно выполняются прописи деталей (например, нимбов ангелов) на иконах. Но увидеть своими невооруженными глазами ни ангелов, ни гениталии комаров невозможно. По замыслу Монастырского, такая условная невидимость помещает столь разные сущности в одно контекстуальное поле, наделяет их одним и тем же свойством: они могут существовать только в воображении того, кто о них думает. И в этом плане нечто совершенно незначительное становится равным сакральному.

Выставка Осмоловского — это остросоциальный проект, в котором неотвеченные вопросы и накал общественных настроений трансформируются в хаотическое и неудобное пространство, сохраняющее при этом визуальную строгость. Ситуация, с которой работает Осмоловский, доводится до абсурда: «сакральный» закон страны нечитаем, а назойливый звук «комариного гимна» льется и льется из громкоговорителей, бессмысленный и бесконечный.

Анатолий Осмоловский родился в 1969 году в Москве. Основатель и лидер движения Э.Т.И. (Экспроприация территории искусства), существовавшего в конце 80-х - начале 90-х годов. Лауреат Премии Кандинского в номинации «Художник года» (2007). В 2011 году совместно со Светланой Басковой создал институт современного искусства «БАЗА». Участник 55-й биеннале современного искусства (Каза-деи-Тре-Очи, Венеция). Персональные выставки художника проходили в галерее XL («Жвачка с волосами», 1994; «Кое-что время от времени выпадающее из мусорного бака», 1996; «Приказ по армии искусств», 1997; «Простыни», 1999; «Семь смертей в Москве», 2003), галерее «Триумф», галерее pop/off/art и др.