Winzavod CCA
Moscow, 4th Syromyatnichesky lane 1/8 105120 Kurskaya/Chkalovskaya metro station

How to find us
Administration: +7 (495) 917 46 46, + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Lease: +7 (495) 803 33 33
Ticket Office: + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Email: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru
Exhibitions

Albert Soldatov
Shining

18 July — 28 August 2018
23 pop/off/art gallery

Albert Soldatov
Shining

The theme of Albert Soldatov's new project is the loss of the feeling of wellbeing, the growing
anxiety in the world today. Over recent decades, as a result of new technologies, civilisation has reached the maximum level of wellbeing, but at the same time it is evident that humanity is on the threshold of a new "epoch of uncertainty", on the verge of global changes.

 "Shining" is the first solo exhibition of this young, but already well-known, Russian artist in the pop/off/art Gallery. The exposition will for the first time present his comprehensive video that gave the project its title, as well as a series of paintings created specifically for the exhibition, – before this the artist worked mainly with new media, never having tried painting. For Albert Soldatov "shining" is both an artistic method and a specific optical approach to viewing objects and phenomena that, like prophetic vision, creates a visual sequence. The word "Hashmal" (חשמל), pronounced in Hebrew and mentioned in the credits as "shining", in modern translation has one meaning – "electricity", which links it with optical media. It is also written in the book of the prophet Ezekiel (Ezekiel, 1: 4), where it describes visions of the divine chariot and can have more than one interpretation. Thus, it can be understood as a visionary characteristic of forms and optical phenomena. The video is made according to the Möbius strip principle: the outer space transforms into the interior, and vice versa – the interior flows into landscapes.
Here painting continues and develops the theme of the video and their visual sequence breaks up into fragments that resemble the pictures that we see on computer and smartphone screens: memes, net.art, documentary images fr om private life. As a whole, Soldatov's new series of works shows today's post-industrial world, wh ere virtual networks and media are intertwined with real life. The artist finds apt metaphors for its representation.

Albert Soldatov was born in 1980 in Moscow. In 2002 he graduated from the Moscow State University of Printing Arts, as a graphic artist. From 2010 to 2014 he studied at the Rodchenko Moscow School of Photography and Multimedia in the "new media" studio. Laureate of the Kandinsky Prize in 2014 in the nomination "Young Artist. Project of the Year", he works mainly in video. He has had several solo projects and has participated in numerous group ones. Among them are the video programme CITIZENFIVE, Art Athina (2017, Athens), the Triennial of Russian Contemporary Art in the Garage Museum (2017, Moscow), the 9th Andrei Tarkovsky International Film Festival "Zerkalo" (2015), "Great Hopes" (2014, "Manezh" Central Exhibition Hall, Moscow), the special projects of Biennales and others. His works are in the collection of the Multimedia Art Museum, Moscow, and in private collections. Soldatov lives and works in Moscow.

Центр современного
искусства Винзавод
Москва, 4-й Сыромятнический переулок, 1/8 стр. 6 Станции метро Курская, Чкаловская

Схема проезда
Администрация: +7 (495) 917 46 46, + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Аренда: +7 (495) 803 33 33
Кассы: + 7 (495) 917 17 99
Почта: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru
Выставка

Альберт Солдатов
Сияние

18 Июля — 28 Августа 2018
23 Галерея pop/off/art
18 Июля —
28 Августа 2018
23 Галерея pop/off/art
Режим работы:

12:00 — 20:00

Пн
Вт
Ср
Чт
Пт
Сб
Вс

Бесплатно

Альберт Солдатов
Сияние

Темой нового проекта Альберта Солдатова становится проблема утраты чувства комфорта и нарастающая тревога в современном мире. За последние десятилетия цивилизация достигла
максимального уровня комфорта за счет новых технологий, но в то же время очевидно, что человечество оказалось на пороге новой «эпохи неопределенности», на грани глобальных изменений.

«Сияние» – первая персональная выставка молодого, но уже успевшего завоевать известность российского автора в галерее pop/off/art. В экспозиции впервые будет представлено масштабное видео, давшее название проекту, а также живописная серия, созданная специально для выставки, – ранее художник, работающий преимущественно с новыми медиа, к живописи не обращался. Для Альберта Солдатова «сияние» — это одновременно художественный метод и особая оптика взгляда на предметы и явления, подобно профетическому зрению она выстраивает визуальный ряд. Слово «хашмаль» (חשמל), звучащее на иврите и упоминаемое в титрах как «сияние», имеет в современном переводе одно значение — «электричество», что связывает его с оптическими медиа. В то же время оно содержится в книге пророка Иезекииля (Ихезекиль, 1:4), где не имеет однозначного толкования, но описывает видения божественной колесницы, таким образом, его можно воспринимать как визионерскую характеристику форм и оптических явлений. Пространство видео организовано по принципу ленты Мёбиуса: внешнее пространство превращается в интерьер, и обратно — интерьеры перетекают в пейзажи.

Живопись продолжает и развивает тему видео. Здесь визуальный ряд распадается на фрагменты, напоминающие картинку, которую мы видим на экране компьютеров и смартфонов: мемы, нет-арт, документальные кадры из личной истории. В целом новая серия работ Солдатова представляет сегодняшний постиндустриальный мир, где виртуальные сети и нематериальные медиа переплетаются с реальной жизнью. Художник находит точные метафоры для его отображения.

Альберт Солдатов родился в 1980 году в Москве, в 2002 году окончил Московский государственный институт печати по специальности «художник график», в 2010-2014 годах учился в Московской школе фотографии и мультимедиа им. А. Родченко в мастерской «новые медиа». Лауреат премии Кандинского 2014 года в номинации «Молодой художник. Проект года», работает преимущественно с видео. Участник множества групповых и нескольких персональных проектов, среди которых видео-программа CITIZENFIVE, Art Athina (2017, Афины), Триеннале российского современного искусства в музее «Гараж» (2017, Москва), IX Международный кинофестиваль имени Андрея Тарковского «Зеркало», (2015), «Большие надежды» (2014, ЦВЗ «Манеж», Москва), специальные проекты Биеннале и другие. Работы находятся в коллекции Мультимедиа Арт Музея, Москва и в частных собраниях. Солдатов живет и работает в Москве.