Winzavod CCA
Moscow, 4th Syromyatnichesky lane 1/8 105120 Kurskaya/Chkalovskaya metro station

How to find us
Administration: +7 (495) 917 46 46
Lease: +7 (905) 519 99 50
Ticket Office: +7 (495) 917 17 99 (с 12:00 до 20:00)
Email: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru, arenda@winzavod.ru
Exhibitions

Sergey Bratkov
Before/After

13 October — 18 January 2022
22 OVCHARENKO Gallery

Sergey Bratkov
Before/After

16+

OVCHARENKO represents two events that are inextricably linked and at the same time have independent meaning. This is an exhibition project "WAS / HAS BEEN" and a presentation of the artist's catalog entitled "WE ARE NOT HERE", representing a series of works with texts.

The exhibition "WAS / WAS" consists of three installations created specifically for the gallery space and photography. According to the author, the title of the exhibition describes the method of juxtaposing portraits, city views and landscapes, which has become ubiquitous now, in the era of colossally expanded photo archives. There is no peering into the bygone, there are no pricks of nostalgia - social networks and network publications are full of optimism, like advertising for dentistry: a murky monochrome past and present in RGB.

All the more paradoxical is the new work with neon that gave the name to the exhibition: glowing inscriptions "past" and "now" flank the smeared glass doors. But the difference between "was" and "now" is so conditional that the gaze is riveted to the central part, trying to penetrate the white veil of paint and understand - maybe at least something happened there? This work also reflects the model of the entire exhibition: together with an equal large-format collage on the opposite wall, they represent two flanks-propylae for approaching the image on the central wall - a large scoreboard with zeros, a "new countdown" for the "new millennium" and "new technologies" ...

However, the scoreboard looks, in the artist's interpretation, somehow suspiciously not new, but shabby and defective. The artist presents the hopes and aspirations of twenty years ago through the prism of imperfect verbs, showing the action protracted and ineffectual: it was - but did not come true. And at the same time, the works are devoid of drama, anguish and declarativeness, Bratkov reproduces the gaze of a viewer of the same age as perestroika, a generation of cold observers to whom it is senseless to impute or present something, to those on whose behalf Jacques Rancière says: “We no longer have anything to feel for guilty themselves. " The neoliberal aspirations of the past appear in the merciless light of modern reality, and instead of Fukuyama's “end of history” we see a false start: a clock with no electricity, a stepladder clamped in a film and someone's profile - a silhouette, in backlash, identification defies ...

The work of Sergei Bratkov is distinguished by filigree and witty editing, characteristic of the author already in his early work, but now deployed in the format of installations. Neon, large-format printing on film, letters and numbers appear here in a dizzyingly precise and effective ensemble, dissecting everyday reality and putting new accents and rhythms in it. And this creates the conditions for a new, analytical and emancipated personal view.

The use of neon inscriptions in the work "WAS / HAS BEEN" connects the exhibition project with the catalog of works by Sergei Bratkov "WE ARE NOT HERE", dedicated to a series of works by the artist using inscriptions. This catalog is a study in which this series goes through a complex art history, philosophical and sociological analysis. The author's team of the publication includes philologist and professor at the University of Zurich Tomasz Glants, head of the department of sociocultural research at the Levada Center * sociologist Alexei Levinson, art critic, art critic, columnist for the culture department of Kommersant Publishing House Anna Tolstova and art critic Evgenia Kikodze.

* The organization is recognized as a foreign agent


About the artist:

Sergey Bratkov is an artist, author of photographs, videos and installations. Creates reportage and staged photographs, videos, installations. Reflects the social reality of Russia and Ukraine, focusing on the lives of ordinary people. He captures folk kitsch and images of everyday life with brutal frankness and irony. Laureate of the Innovation Prize. Participant of the Venice Biennale (2003, Russian Pavilion, 2007, Ukrainian Pavilion), Manifesta-5 (San Sebastian, 2004), the 25th Biennale in Sao Paulo (2002) and many other major international projects. Biography: https://ovcharenko.art/ru/artists/31-sergey-bratkov/

Центр современного
искусства Винзавод
Москва, 4-й Сыромятнический переулок, 1/8 стр. 6 Станции метро Курская, Чкаловская

Схема проезда
Администрация: +7 (495) 917 46 46
Аренда: +7 (905) 519 99 50
Кассы: +7 (495) 917 17 99
Почта: winzavod@winzavod.ru, web@winzavod.ru, arenda@winzavod.ru
Выставка

Сергей Братков
БЫЛО/СТАЛО

13 Октября — 18 Января 2022
22 Галерея OVCHARENKO
13 Октября —
18 Января 2022
22 Галерея OVCHARENKO
Режим работы:

11:00 — 20:00

Пн
Вт
Ср
Чт
Пт
Сб
Вс

Бесплатно

Сергей Братков
БЫЛО/СТАЛО

16+

OVCHARENKO представляет два события, неразрывно связанных между собой и при этом обладающих самостоятельным значением. Это выставочный проект «БЫЛО/СТАЛО» и презентация каталога художника под названием «НАС ТУТ НЕТ», представляющего серию работ с текстами.

Выставка «БЫЛО/СТАЛО» состоит из трёх инсталляций, созданных специально для пространства галереи, и фотографии. По словам автора, название выставки описывает прием сопоставления портретов, городских видов и пейзажей, ставший повсеместным сейчас, в эпоху колоссально разросшихся фотоархивов. Нет вглядывания в ушедшее, нет и уколов ностальгии — социальные сети и сетевые издания полны оптимизма, как реклама стоматологии: мутное монохромное прошлое и настоящее в RGB.

Тем парадоксальнее новая работа с неоном, давшая название выставке: светящиеся надписи «было» и «стало» фланкируют замазанные стеклянные двери. Но разница между «было» и «стало» настолько условная, что взгляд приковывается к центральной части, стремясь проникнуть за белую пелену краски и понять — может быть, хотя бы там что-то произошло? Эта работа отражает и модель всей выставки: вместе с равным ей крупноформатным коллажем на противоположной стене они представляют два фланга-пропилеи для подхода к изображению на центральной стене — большому табло с нулями, «новый отсчет» для «нового тысячелетия» и «новых технологий». 

Однако табло выглядит в интерпретации художника каким-то подозрительно не новым, а потрепанным и дефектным. Художник представляет надежды и чаяния двадцатилетней давности сквозь призму глаголов несовершенного вида, показывающее действие затянутым и безрезультатным: было – но не сбылось. И в то же время работы лишены драматизма, надрыва и декларативности, Братков воспроизводит взгляд зрителя–ровесника перестройки, поколения холодных наблюдателей, которым бессмысленно что-то вменить или предъявить, тем, от чьего имени Жак Рансьер сообщает: «Нам больше не за что чувствовать себя виноватыми». Неолиберальные чаяния прошлых лет предстают в безжалостном свете современной реальности, и вместо «конца истории» Фукуямы мы видим фальстарт: часы с не подведённым электричеством, стремянку, зажатую в пленке и чей-то профиль — силуэтом, в контражуре, идентификации не поддается…

Творчество Сергея Браткова отличает филигранный и остроумный монтаж, свойственный автору уже в раннем творчестве, но сейчас развернутый в формате инсталляций. Неон, крупноформатная печать на пленке, буквы и цифры здесь предстают в головокружительно точном и эффектном ансамбле, рассекающем бытовую реальность и ставящем в ней новые акценты и ритмы. И это создаёт условия для нового, аналитического и эмансипированного персонального взгляда.

Использование неоновых надписей в работе «БЫЛО/СТАЛО» связывает выставочный проект с каталогом произведений Сергея Браткова «НАС ТУТ НЕТ», посвященного серии работ художника с использованием надписей. Этот каталог–исследование, в котором данная серия проходит через комплексный искусствоведческий, философский и социологический анализ. В авторский коллектив издания вошли филолог и профессор Цюрихского университета Томаш Гланц, руководитель отдела социокультурных исследований Левада-Центра* социолог Алексей Левинсон, искусствовед, художественный критик, обозреватель отдела культуры ИД «КоммерсантЪ» Анна Толстова и художественный критик Евгения Кикодзе. 

* Организация признана иностранным агентом

О художнике:
Сергей Братков - художник, автор фотографий, видео и инсталляций. Создает репортажные и постановочные снимки, видео, инсталляции. Отражает социальную действительность России и Украины, фокусируясь на жизни простых людей. Фиксирует народный китч и образы повседневности с брутальной откровенностью и иронией. Лауреат премии «Инновация». Участник Венецианских биеннале (2003, павильон России, 2007, павильон Украины), Manifesta-5 (Сан-Себастьян, 2004), 25-й Биеннале в Сан-Паулу (2002) и множества других крупных международных проектов.

Биография: https://ovcharenko.art/ru/artists/31-sergey-bratkov/